Whitwell, Symphony Nr. 3

David Whitwell (b. 1937)

Symphony Nr. 3 “Meditations on Hamlet”
1. “When churchyards yawn, and Hell itself breathes out”
2. “Thoughts Beyond the Reaches of our Souls”
3. “Good Night, Sweet Prince”

This Symphony came to mind after I attended a performance of Shakespeare’s famous play. Although the symphony was never intended to reflect the play itself, the music came to mind after three lines of text seemed to stay with me.

Download a preview of the score.

Buy the score and parts (PDF download) — $75.00

This live premiere performance is by the California State University, Northridge Wind Ensemble, David Whitwell, Conductor, given October 20, 1989.

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.